The Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (TRCSL) which was under the purview of the Defence Ministry has been brought under the purview of the Ministry of Technology, according to a recent gazette notification.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe holds both Defence and Technology Minstertril portfolios. Vice Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa Snr. Prof. Niranjan D. Gunawardena is the current Secretary to the Ministry of Technology.

Other Institutions under the purview of the Ministry of Technology include: the Department for Registration of Persons (DRP) Information, Communication Technology Agency of Sri Lanka (ICTA), Sri Lanka Computer Emergency Readiness Team (SLCERT), Sri Lanka Telecom PLC, Industrial Technology Institute (ITI) and Sri Lanka Standards Institute (SLSI)

By Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *